

October 12, 2017

Principal Darcy Reynolds made the following appointments prior to the start of the Establishment Meeting:

Chair – Ms. Lynda Akers, Alberta School Councils Association Recording Secretary – Mr. Darcy Reynolds, Principal of MBE

Meeting was called to order by Chair - Lynda Akers, at 6:53pm.

- 1. Model of Governance
 - a. Handout provided 'Governance Types'
 - b. Explanation & discussion of Models 'Representative and Town Hall'
 - c. Vote on Models 24 for Town Hall; 0 for Representative
 - d. Membership chooses Town Hall governance model
- 2. Size & Terms of Executive
 - a. Handout provided 'School Council Participant Roles'
 - b. Explanation & discussion of various participant role options
 - c. Results of vote on format Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, Treasurer
 - d. Membership chooses format of four positions as mentioned in (c)
 - e. Vote on 'term' of role; voting result 1 year terms for all positions
 - f. Elections to be held every September
- 3. Election of Executive
 - a. Chair
 - i. Nominations for position of **Chair** opened by Chair Lynda Akers
 - ii. Crystal Metzger nominated by Candice Truman (accepted by C. Metzger)
 - iii. Three calls for further nominations by Chair no further nominations
 - iv. Crystal Metzger elected Chair of MBE School Council by acclamation
 - b. Vice-Chair
 - i. Nominations for position of Vice-**Chair** opened by Chair Lynda Akers
 - ii. Leanna Robinson nominated by Danica Warren (accepted by L. Robinson)
 - iii. Three calls for further nominations by Chair no further nominations
 - iv. Leanna Robinson elected Vice-Chair of MBE School Council by acclamation

- c. Secretary
 - i. Nominations for position of **Secretary** opened by Chair Lynda Akers
 - ii. Ashley Watson nominated by Naomi Cardwell (accepted by A. Watson)
 - iii. Three call for further nominations by Chair no further nominations
 - iv. Ashley Watson elected Secretary of MBE School Council by acclamation
- d. Treasurer
 - i. Nominations for position of **Treasurer** opened by Chair Lynda Akers
 - ii. Jennifer Gomez nominated by Candace Rupert (accepted by J. Gomez)
 - iii. Three call for further nominations by Chair no further nominations
 - iv. Jennifer Gomez elected Treasurer of MBE School Council by acclamation

Motion to adjourn meeting made by Cherie Hunter. Accepted by membership.